Menu Close

OHA to Celebrate Health Care Worker of the Year Nominees and Leadership Award Recipients June 14

In recognition of National Hospital Week, May 8-14, OHA congratulates the 61 honorees nominated for Health Care Worker of the Year and five Health Care Leadership Award recipients to be recognized at the annual OHA Recognition Dinner June 14. Held in conjunction with the OHA Annual Meeting June 13-15 at the Hilton Columbus at Easton, the recognition dinner is a time-honored tradition to celebrate outstanding hospital caregivers and health care leaders statewide.

National Hospital Week celebrates hospitals and the men and women who, day in and day out, support the health of their communities through compassionate care, constant innovation and unwavering, unmatched dedication. Ohio hospitals employ more than 250,000 committed individuals and each year we invite member hospitals and health systems to nominate one outstanding professional for Health Care Worker of the Year. The award was created in 1996 to honor hospital employees who demonstrate leadership, reflect the mission and values of their institutions, go above and beyond the call of duty and give back to the community.

In addition, OHA presents several leadership awards to individuals who have made significant contributions to the hospital industry and health care field in Ohio. The 2016 recipients are:

  • John Prout (Cincinnati), retired president and CEO, TriHealth, will receive OHAs Donald R. Newkirk Award. This is the associations highest honor and is named for Don Newkirk who led OHA for 27 years, from 1962-1989. The award recognizes an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the health care field in Ohio.
  • Randal Arnett (Wheelersburg), president and CEO, Southern Ohio Medical Center, will receive OHAs James R. Castle Distinguished Service Award. This award honors an individual whose professional attainments embody qualities of an outstanding leader or mentor for service to the health care community, or other special achievement. This award is named for OHAs president and CEO for 23 years, from 1989 through 2011.
  • Thomas Bleile (Norwalk), Board of Directors, Fisher-Titus Medical Center, and D. Brent Mulgrew (Columbus), executive director and co-chief executive officer, Ohio State Medical Association, will receive OHAs Dr. Eli Crew Community Service Excellence Award. This award recognizes an individuals support of the health care industry. The award is named in honor of Dr. Eli R. Crew, former superintendent of Daytons Miami Valley Hospital. In 1914, he led Ohio hospital administrators to an organizational meeting at Cedar Point, Sandusky where OHA was founded.
  • Richard Doan, former administrator and chief executive officer, Barnesville Hospital, will be inducted posthumously into OHAs Hall of Fame. The OHA Hall of Fame was created in 2015 to commemorate the associations centennial year. Hall of Fame inductees are individuals whose extraordinary achievements have had lasting value and importance and notably helped advance the interests and image of Ohios hospitals or health systems.

All nominees are invited to attend the OHAs awards ceremony in June where the finalists and ultimate recipient will be revealed. Registration information is available at and reserved seating is available through May 31. Hospitals are encouraged to cover the cost of the dinner for their nominee(s). For questions about registration, please contact the OHA Member Services Department at (614) 221-7614.