Menu Close

David Phillips Joins OHA 2018 Board

Agenda to focus on state and federal health care economic policy reforms and statewide initiatives to address infant mortality, opioids and health outcomes

Columbus, Ohio (Dec. 15, 2017) – The Ohio Hospital Association, the united voice of Ohio’s 220 hospitals and 13 health systems, today announced new officers and welcomed three new members to its Board of Trustees for next year.

Bruce White, CEO, Knox Community Hospital (Mount Vernon) will chair the board beginning Jan. 1, 2018. Mike Louge, executive vice president and chief operating officer, OhioHealth (Columbus) is chair-elect and Ed Roth, president and CEO, Aultman Health Foundation (Canton) will serve as secretary/treasurer. Kevin Webb, chief acute and post-acute care officer, ProMedica (Toledo) transitions to immediate past chair. Board officers serve one-year terms.

New trustees-at-large elected by OHA membership include Randy Arnett, president and CEO, Southern Ohio Medical Center (Portsmouth); Ed Lamb, president and CEO, Mount Carmel Health System (Columbus); and David Phillips, CEO, Barnesville Hospital (Barnesville).

All 2018 board terms begin Jan. 1. The OHA Board of Trustees sets policy and strategic direction for matters affecting hospitals throughout Ohio. The board includes representatives from small and large hospitals, urban and rural hospitals, teaching facilities, and independent facilities and health care systems. The board consists of four officers, the OHA president and CEO and 14 trustees-at-large.

“Health care reform and the economics of health care remain a focal point for consumers, policy makers and our member hospitals,” said Mike Abrams, OHA president and CEO. “These volatile times require strong leadership. I look forward to working with Bruce and the OHA Board to advance an advocacy agenda on behalf of our members confronting significant changes proposed for Medicare and Medicaid programs that insure millions of Ohioans, and as we confront our state’s challenges with opioids and infant mortality.”

White has served as CEO of Knox Community Hospital in Mount Vernon since September 2006. He joined the hospital in July 1996 and has served in the positions including assistant administrator, vice-president of support and ancillary services and director of information services.

White earned a master’s degree in Business Administration with certification in health care management from the University of Dallas and a master’s degree in Business Operational Excellence in health care from the Ohio State University Fisher College of Business. He earned his bachelor’s degree in Computer Science and Mathematics from Youngstown State University.

In addition to his governance roles at OHA, he also serves on the boards for the Mental Health and Recovery Board for Licking and Knox Counties, Community Health Center of Knox County and Knox County Chamber of Commerce. White has served on the boards of Kenyon College, Kiwanis Club of Mount Vernon, United Way of Knox County, Salvation Army, YMCA and the Advisory Council for the Mount Vernon Developmental Center. He was selected by Quorum Health Resources as CEO of the Year in 2015.

Returning OHA Board members for 2018 include:
• Mike Abrams, president and CEO, OHA (Columbus) [ex-officio trustee]
• Ray Chorey, president and CEO, Southeastern Ohio Regional Medical Center (Cambridge)
• Mark Dooley, president and CEO, Wilson Health (Sidney)
• Patti Finn, CEO, Fulton County Health Center (Wauseon)
• Steve Glass, chief financial officer, Cleveland Clinic Foundation (Cleveland)
• Mandy Goble, president and CEO, Mary Rutan Hospital (Bellefontaine)
• Mike Keating, president and CEO, The Christ Hospital Health Network (Cincinnati)
• Rick Lofgren, MD, president and CEO, UC Health (Cincinnati)
• Fred Manchur, president and CEO, Kettering Health Network (Dayton)
• David McQuaid, CEO, The Ohio State University Health System, and COO, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center (Columbus)
• Brian Smith, COO, Mercy Health (Cincinnati)
• John Walsh, CEO, Affinity Medical Center (Massillon)